" United Against Corruption for a prosperous Pakistan ".


   Department of Urology


Dr. Muhammad Nazir


Associate  Professor

Dr Sohail Hassan        

Assistant Professors

Dr. Fawad Nasrullah   Dr. Kamran Zaidi    


The Department of Urology, Dialysis & Kidney Transplant was established in 1981.

Prof. Farrukh Ahmad Khan took over as first head of the department, at PGMI / Lahore General Hospital, Lahore.

Now the department is having state of the art facilities. We have 40 indoor beds & 3 isolation rooms, a separate space for OPD and 33 haemodialysis machines working in three shifts. All patients of Chronic Renal Failure are getting the medicines from hospital. We are recognized unit for kidney transplant by HOTA Punjab & subsequent immunosuppresion is also provided by the hospital. Extracorporeal Shockwave (Lithotripsy) is available for kidney stones, Minimal invasive surgery for lower urinary tract like TUR-P, TUR-BT, Internal Urethrotomy, Litholapexy. Ureterorenoscopy, Pneumatic Lithotripsy, PCNL, Laproscopic urological procedures and laser enucelation of prostate are regularly being performed in the department. Laser is also used for breaking stones anywhere in the urinary system and treating bad stricture. The facilities mentioned above are most modern and we have now entered into an era of non invasive and minimal invasive surgery. With these facilities we are comparable any department of urology in Pakistan.

We have 20 Postgraduate students status amongst which 17 are enrolled as M. S & 3 are as FCPS residents.




copy right 2010. Postgraduate Medical Institute. All rights reserved. last update on 14 November, 2018